### April 19, 2017

Minutes for the Regular Meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Lake Station Community Schools to be held at Lake Station Community Schools Edison Jr. Sr. High 3400 Parkside Avenue, Lake Station, IN at the hour of 7:00 p.m.

Members Present: Larry Biggs, Karen Curtis, Greg Tenorio, John Bastin, Gregory Keehn

Members Absent: None

Others Present: Tom Cripliver, Eric Kurtz, Tara Tauber

Larry Biggs led the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag

Public Comments (3 Minute Limit)

### AI I Consent Agenda

AI

## Ms. Curtis Moved to approve the Consent Agenda. Seconded by Greg Tenorio and unanimously carried.

	1.	Minutes	Minutes				
		Executive Session – March 15, 2017 Regular Board Meeting – March 15, 2017					
	2.	2. Approval of Claims					
	3.	Donations					
		a. Donors Choose donation of \$299.00 for Ms. Rearick's Kindergarten class for materials for the "Easy as ABC123" project.					
		<ul> <li>Accept the donation of \$260.00 from Go Fund Me to be used at Polk Elementary towards the 5<sup>th</sup>/6<sup>th</sup> graders Dunes Field Trip.</li> </ul>					
		c. Accept the donation of \$236.19 from Polk P.A.T.T. to be used at Polk Elementary towards the 5 <sup>th</sup> /6 <sup>th</sup> grade study trip.					
Π	Personnel						
		Mr. Tenorio moved to approve item 1 under Personnel. Seconded by Mr. Keehn and unanimously carried.					
	1.	Accept Vickie Clay's resignation as night custodian at Edison Jr. Sr. High School effective March 20, 2017					

		Ms. Curtis moved to approve item 2 under Personnel. Seconded by Mr. Tenorio and Ayes from Mr. Keehn, Larry Biggs, Greg Tenorio & Ms. Curtis and Nay from John Bastin.	
AI	2.	Approve the recommendation to promote Joe Owens as maintenance personnel at a rate of \$21.07 an hour retroactive to Monday, April 10, 2017	Promote Joe Owens
		Mr. Tenorio moved to approve items 3 & 4 under Personnel. Seconded by Ms. Curtis and unanimously carried.	
AI	3.	Approve to hire and Eluides Pagan and Daniel Ayers as summer school teachers for the Credit Recovery Classes at Edison High School and Susanna Young- Gulbrandsen as summer school I-READ 3 teacher at Edison High School June 5, 2017 to June 23, 2017 and pay them according to the terms of the collective bargaining agreement	Summer School Teachers
AI	4.	Approve to hire the following teachers and paraprofessionals for the High Ability Summer School program. Teachers and paraprofessionals will work June 2, 2017 for 4hrs and June 5-8 for 4 hours. They will work June 9, 2017 an 8 hours day. Teachers will be paid according to the terms of the collective bargaining agreement. Paraprofessionals will receive \$20.00 per hour.TEACHERSPARAPROFESSIONALS1. Tanya Havrilla1. Linda Scartozzi2. Jessie Kammer2. Brittaney Marciniak3. Sam Staresinich3. Heather Sanchez4. Amanda Tuel4. Janice Burton	High Ability Summer School Teachers
		Ms. Curtis moved to approve items 5 & 6 under Personnel. Seconded by Mr. Keehn and unanimously carried.	
AI	5.	Accept Kathy Norkus retirement letter as 4 <sup>th</sup> Grade teacher at Polk School effective at the end of the 2016-2017 school year.	Retirement Kathy Norkus
AI	6.	Accept Faye Forsythe's retirement letter as 3 <sup>rd</sup> Grade teachers at Polk School effective the end of the 2016-2017 school year.	Retirement Faye Forsythe
		Mr. Tenorio moved to approve item 7 under Personnel. Seconded by Ms. Curtis and unanimously carried.	
AI	7.	Approve the voluntary transfer of Julia Williams from Assistant Cook to Helper at Edison Jr. Sr. High School retroactive to March 27, 2017	Transfer Julia Williams
		Mr. Tenorio moved to approve item 8 under Personnel. Seconded by Ms. Curtis and unanimously carried.	
AI	8.	Approve the transfer for Sarah Cheek from Mini Bus driver to School Bus Driver effective March 23, 2017	Bus Driver Sarah Cheek

### New Business

# Ms. Curtis moved to approve item 1 under New Business. Seconded by Mr. Tenorio and unanimously carried.

**Purchase Mini Bus** 

- AI III 1. Approve the purchase of 1 mini bus for the transportation fleet.
  - IV Other Business
- IO Next school board meeting is Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 7:00 pm at the Administration Center